Snap In Capacitor Footprints. Only degrees listed on datasheet

I’m relatively new to EDA software but I’ve made some boards and footprints at this point. The specific issue I am having is relating to big snap in capacitor footprints.

I am hoping to use this capacitor:

https://search.kemet.com/component-documentation/download/specsheet/ALC70E153EL100

It has 4 pins, 2 of which have positions defined by degrees at the same radius of the positive and negative leads. Does KiCAD have some way for me to best approach doing this? I was hoping SnapEDA or Mouser would get me a footprint for these (I have a few other similar snap ins I’m trying to get footprints for) but it’s been the better part of 2 weeks; at least from Mouser. I just tried SnapEDA a couple of days ago. Still, I’d like to know how I can do this myself for the future.

Thanks for any and all help

It’s just Trigonometry . . . you can work out the positions given the angle and the PCD of 22.5mm +/-0.1mm . . . alternatively put 2 pads in 22.5mm away from the 0,0 point one above and one below select them both and rotate 30deg, duplicate the 2 pads and rotate once more by 60deg this time, then delete the surplus pads.

There are probably other ways to do this too . . .

Kicad does have Measurement tools to use as an Aid in making geometry…

You may want to watch my Video on making a Capacitor and Footprint (Footprint at approx 11:50 minutes into video…)

Here is one other:

Pad 3 is in the 4th quadrant.
When I click OK, pad 4 will be 150 mm from the origin at 30 deg. below the horizontal.

All I will then need is three circles (F. silk, F.courtyard & F. Fab) to complete the footprint.

@Yeuph

This whole job to make a footprint takes a total of about 4 minutes when you have spent a little time learning how the symbol and footprint editors work.

It really pays to learn and use the Symbol and Footprint Editors. Using these features saves hours of surfing and correspondence.

2 Likes