SMD soldering PCB

I need to solder the sensor using SMD method and connect the I/Os to through hole vias in order to begin testing and connecting to my MCU.
I drew the sensor’s layout and footprint, and connected its IOs to vias (through hole type)

1. What are the next steps in order to send the gerber to manufacture it?
  2. What should I order as extra material to solder it? solder paste, heat gun etc…

I know it’s a simple question as I’m a beginner in this field. I need the PCB asap in order to have time for testing

Thanks
Jad

I seems to me that you want to design a board to just test this single component. Have you considered soldering wires directly to the pads? The pads on the 832M1 look big enough to give it a try.

1 Like

You can manually solder SMD elements like THT elements - you need not to use paste - tin wets the pads on the board and the element so it will go under element even you have no direct access there.
What is useful is soldering iron with a thin tip, but your SMD element is huge so it may be not necessary.

I have considered that in fact, but I didn’t know that it is a possible method to test it.
do I risk to damage the sensor?
the solder can be removed without having problems later with SMD soldering?

Provided you do not dwell too long with a soldering iron it will not be damaged.
Practice by soldering the end of one wire to another wire.

I’d also suggest the other ends of the six wires are attached (soldered or screwed) to some sort of solid terminal block and the whole lot held in place on a board with double sided sticky tape if you are going to do some testing.

You could also use a piece of blank PC board and score six isolated pads with a sharp knife to solder to both wires and sensor. Much quicker, easier and cheaper than getting a temporary board fabricated.

The solder will mostly just flow onto the iron when you unsolder the wires and what is left will flow onto the pads of your final PCB.