SMD components foot print and selection

Hi so i am new to kicad. Now i want to use standard 1206 package smd resistor. now when i open assign footprints i only have two options for smd resistor 1206. Both are the same except one is hand soldered and the other isnt.

Now as i am going to hand solder the component i selected hand solder option. Now when i go into PCB mode in kicad and import netlist. I then checked the dimensions of the smd resistor i see the dimensions are 4.915X2.273 mm

However if you see the standards the dimension for 1206 SMD resistor is 3.2X1.6 mm with a tolerance of 0.1 in length and 0.15 mm in width.

Hence why is this difference . Should’nt the component footprint in kicad be the normal standard value.

Further please clarify how to select a smd tantalum capacitor with dimension given below. Please note my capacitor has a case code H in the table (last line in the table in figure.

It is not clear why such standard components are not available in the library .

How do you get to this dimension for the footprint?

You’re looking at the courtyard dimensions, not the package dimensions. In fact, the package dimension is not indicated in the footprint, apart from the 3d model, and the name of the footprint.

The F.Fab outline has the nominal body size.

So it does - didn’t have that layer turned on :smiley:

And the courtyard size for any 5.x footprint can (or should*) also not have the dimensions reported by the user as the courtyard outline must be rounded to 0.01mm grid. For 4.x footprints the rounding should be for 0.05mm grid meaning even more unlikely that it is the courtyard dimension unless the footprint is so old that it still violated even these basic KLC rules.

*) i am sure there are non complient footprints in the lib. I am however certain that the footprints for two terminal passives followed KLC for the full version 5 cycle as they are script generated (using the rules of the KLC and IPC-7351B)