Sizes difference in Footprint and Printed Footprint

Hello all.

I am new to PCB CAD, so forgive me for asking. I would like to design a PCB, but I am not sure about the footprint distances, because they differ in the printed state from the measurement results used in the tool, even though they are printed 1:1. I am not sure about the deviations. I do not want to make the board with wrong distances.

What would I like to create as a footprint? Arduino Mega 2560
KiCad Version: 7.0
Operating system: Windows 11

What did I do to create the footprint?

1. eagle files downloaded from: Arduino Mega 2560 Rev3 — Arduino Official Store
  2. started KiCad exe ‘C:\Program Files\KiCad\7.0\bin\pcbnew’ and opened the ‘EAGLE board’ with it.
  3. removed everything except the outline, holes for screws and the pins.
  4. copied the board and saved it in the normal KiCad as a new footprint. Otherwise I changed NOTHING about the distances.

How was the printing done?
Clicked print, set all layers included and scale 1:1.
In print settings under Windows 11 printer features says ‘Scale: None’.

Which dimensions do not fit?
According to KiCad, the board is about 101.6 mm, which also fits the part. After I printed the board, it only has a length of 98.5mm. Therefore the distances of the pins are not correct anymore. (picture attached)

Does anyone of you have an idea what the problem is and how I can solve it? Is it more correct in KiCad than the printer despite 1:1 scale? I would like to print it out and test it before, because I also have other components where I need to create own blueprint without a board file.

Thank you:)

The machinery used to produce PCBs from the fabrication outputs are far more accurate than your printing system. Trust KiCad.

As for what to do about it. Draw a dimension on your layout using the dimension tool, then tweak your printing scale until this is life size on paper.