Single layer PCB with only SMD

I’m a beginner in PCB design, and I just wanted to know whether can I make a single layer PCB with only SMD components on top layer with traces also in top layer.

Thanks in advance!

Sure, just fill the bottom with copper and make a ground plane out of it. That will prevent you from routing any traces on it. 2 layer boards are just as cheap as 1 layer. Or if it’s really a 1 layer fab, then don’t send them the B.Cu.

1 Like

Why would this be useful:

As long as you don’t place any via’s on your SMD PCB all tracks will stay on the same copper layer.

Doing everything on one layer is quite limiting. You don’t have many routing options, and probably want to add wire bridges in some locations. For this I recommend to use the bottom layer and via’s. You set the design rules to a big via with corresponding hole diameter, and then use it to solder the bridge wires in. The copper tracks you then lay on the other layer is then good documentation for where to solder the bridge wires.

[Edit] In addition to this, why limit yourself to one layer? A GND plane is the single most important extension to a single layer PCB, and you can buy PCB’s with copper on both sides for (almost?) the same price as single layer PCB’s. Same technique applies: In Pcbnew you use a via for each GND connection, and on the actual PCB you make, you solder a short piece of wire through it (There are also bushes specially made for this).

3 Likes

yes you can.
On a simple board you probably can make all the connections on one side. Give it a try. The cost of a PCB is the same 1 layer or 2 layer.

2 Likes

Yes ! I am doing this all the time (though often combined with THTs).
The proposals given here are useful - but you might as well simply route on one layer and nothing else.

Its true that costs are the same for a commercial 2-Layer PCB. I only use the single layer version because I am manufacturing my own PCBs using home equipment.

2 Likes