Simulation for Simple RC Series Circuit - Problem

• I have created a schematic for a simple RC Series circuit with a 5-Volt DC Voltage source and … R = 100k C = 10uf

• All components are selected via pressing “A” and then entering the word “Spice” search field to restrict the list of components to those intended for simulation.

• Transient Tab set to … Time Step = 1ms Final Time = 5 seconds

• DC Transfer Tab untouched.
    The Time Constant for a 100k resistor in series with a 10uf cap is 1 second …
    as … 10^5 * 10^-5 = 1 … right?

So I expected an exponential rise of the voltage at the RC node … but no got !?

Note: If I replace the Cap with a resistor so I have two series resistors … the simulation yields the expected current and voltage.

FYI - I’m running a daily build as shown below and have zero problem with it since it was downloaded … and I’ve banged on it pretty hard … except for the simulation … this is my first time trying to use the simulation.

System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Software: Application: KiCad Schematic Editor (64-bit)

Version: (6.99.0-942-g3129f96686), release build

Libraries:
wxWidgets 3.1.5
FreeType 2.11.1
libcurl/7.78.0-DEV Schannel zlib/1.2.11

Platform: Windows 10 (build 19043), 64-bit edition, 64 bit, Little endian, wxMSW

Build Info:
Date: Feb 15 2022 03:53:16
wxWidgets: 3.1.5 (wchar_t,wx containers)
Boost: 1.76.0
OCC: 7.6.0
Curl: 7.78.0-DEV
ngspice: 36
Compiler: Visual C++ 1928 without C++ ABI

Build settings:
KICAD_USE_OCC=ON
KICAD_SPICE=ON

There are some silly small details that have to be set up right for a simulation to work properly, and it’s difficult to deduce errors from a description.
For example the are two “Spice” libraries, a legacy “pspice” library (with ugly big symbols) and a newer Simulation_Spice library, but for resistors and capacitors you can just as wel get them from the normal “Device” library.