Simplifying Fill Zones

I’m relatively new to designing PCBs, and I just wanted to confirm a few things.

I’m designing my PCBs based on EasyEDA’s manufacturing specifications.

How do their values translate to the copper zone properties window of KiCad. Presumably it’s the clearance and minimum width which need adjusting?

Also, at the moment, I’ve got a square PCB and the zone is drawn on top of the edge cuts. I want to make the zone slightly smaller, so it isn’t so close to the edge of the board. Is there an easy way of doing that? Obviously looking at making a square zone slightly smaller than the edge cuts.

Simple question I know!

[quote=“c1223, post:1, topic:9162”]
I want to make the zone slightly smaller, so it isn’t so close to the edge of the board.
[/quote]Why? I make my zones over sized and let the tolerance setting do that.

You can click on the edge of the zone to highlight it. Then you have the usual resizing tools similar to most windows resizing tools.

I think I’ve misunderstood the specs. The “Circuit to edge” distance is ≥0.3. The “Minimum trace/vias/pads space” is 0.102. So around the edge there needs to be 0.3mm spacing? Then on the board 0.102 is OK?

Well, regardless, you can still shrink the zone easily using what I said above. Click on the edge. That should highlight drag points. Now, whether or not the manufacturer considers the fill a circuit or not is a different matter. It’s not like it’s a trace that could be damaged while cutting the board apart.

The majority of the questions posted to this Forum are “simple” when taken by themselves. The problem is, many of these questions interact with other questions, and soon become a very complicated chain of interactions.

(Did you notice that my FIRST comment relates to your LAST comment? That should tell you something.)

I’m impressed that you are asking for advice. It’s even more impressive that you’ve put some thought and effort into finding the answers on your own before asking questions.