Select multiple objects in eeschema without drawing a frame

I’m a complete newbie to KiCad, but have a lot of PCB design experience (mostly Altium). One thing that I am having trouble with is selecting multiple components but not selecting other components that are in the midst of my target components. Many other programs (CAD, vector graphics, etc) allow you to build up the “selected” objects by holding a key and clicking on each component that you want to select (usually the ctrl key). So, if you want to select several parts, you can just hold ctrl and click on each one, then do whatever it is that you want with them (move, delete, copy, etc). Is there a similar selection mechanism in eeschema? If so, I can’t seem to find it!

1 Like

No.
But, don’t give up yet. KiCad is going to make you question nearly everything you thought you knew about EDA and MCAD software.

Using Symbols with pins that line up on the 100mill grid will make your tasks much easier; however, many KiCad library Symbols are on the 50mill grid.

Most everyone agrees that Eeschema is still a little bit clunky. Push onward to check out the Push and Shove Router in PcbNew.

Welcome to the Forum!

Also, welcome,
Being able to make more complicaded selections is a plus, but as a more general rule it is often also adviseable to leave a bit more room between sections so it is not needed to use more complicated selection methods.

Very recently I came across a little power supply with sort of enhances both arguments.
Everything is crammed together on a small sheet, which makes it difficult to change anything, adding a single opamp anywhere on the schematic would almost need reorganisation of the whole schematic.
Note also that almost any sub circuit is selectable with a single rectanggular window.
mini_psu_sch.pdf (138.8 KB)
(The schematic is not mine, I just found it together with some code on github).