Scripting Eagle import

I have several dozens of old Eagle projects which I’d like to make available in KiCad for referencing etc., so I’d like to automate the import/conversion process. I’m new to scripting KiCad, and I had a look at the Python API, but so far I haven’t found what I need or where exactly to start.

The manual process I’d like to script goes like this:
Open KiCad, Import Project -> Eagle CAD, select an Eagle schematic file, create a folder for the new KiCad project, save the converted schematic, save the converted layout and finally generate an interactive BOM.

Is this feasible by just passing parameters to the KiCad executables or do I have to write a script that runs in KiCad? I’d like some high-level overview about how to tackle this project. Some pointers to documentation would be appreciated as well…

As far as I know there is only a scripting capability build into Pcbnew. Not in the KiCad project manager, nor Eeschema. There is no interface to scripting available to users at the moment (Maybe in KiCad V6?)

However, The Eagle to KiCad conversion has been an external script for a long time before it got integrated in KiCad.
For single use it’s convenient the conversion script is baked into KiCad, but for batch processing it’s probably a better route to use it from an external (Python?) script.

1 Like

I wonder if the script is up to date anymore, since the feature is now built-in.

2 Likes

Yes, but what does “built in” mean?

Several years ago the conversion was an external Python script (If I even remember that well) I think I ran it once or twice just to see if it worked, and it did.

Then, before the introduction of KiCad V5, when the conversion scripts got integrated into KiCad, quite some work was done to update the scripts and add missing features.

Then I bumped into rosco_m68k on hackaday, and there was some interest to convert it from Eagle to KiCad, so just for fun I did the initial conversion and mailed it to them.