Schematic & Layout Feedback

I am a beginner with PCB design and decided to use KiCad to create a simple circuit involving an ESP32S Node MCU and two L298N IC’s to control four DC motors.

I’d appreciate some feedback before getting the design manufactured & assembled because it is somewhat expensive and takes a reasonable amount of time.

The main components I’ve used are:

1. ESP32S Node MCU
  2. L298N * 2
  3. LM2596T 5.0V step down regulator

The input voltage will be a 12V LiPo battery rated at about 360mAh

I’m uploading an imgur link because of KiCad forums prevent new users from uploading files

https://imgur.com/a/zp1Wkcb

You have a ratsnest line between L1 and U1 and between D10 and D14. Also seemingly several DRC errors and warnings.

Imgur is temporarily over capacity. Please try again later

I pushed you up one level, you should be able to attach an image.

If you could be, at some time, concern about the L298 power dissipation, you layout doesn’t allow a good heatsink installation.

@hildogjr Yes, I don’t have a footprint for that on my layout but I believe the L298N has some heatsink options which can be screwed directly onto the IC without interfering with the pins whatsoever. Something like this

I was planning to just use those. Would that work?

Thanks for pointing out the ratsnest lines, I’ll take a look at those.

The DRC errors and warnings have to do with some footprints I downloaded for the step down regulator. Something about intersecting courtyards. I would assume that i could ignore those since I’m certain the footprint is right and I can procure the components for assembly?

Or is this something I’ll have to fix by recreating the footprints myself?

Thanks, I’ve uploaded a screenshot of the PCB layout

In addition to my post above, the holes of the U2 footprint looks weird, the yellow area of the holes is very slim, which I assume means that the holes might be too large and/or there will not be enough copper there around the holes.