Schematic and footprint lost connection

Hi I am new to KiCad and this forum so please forgive me if my question is stupid or discussed before, I could not find the subject else ware.

I have a “larger” schematic that ended up being clustered and therefor did I chose to put it on sub-sheets. I have already placed components, connected traces and most is as I would like it to be.

Mu problem is that when I now use the “load netlist” button does KiCad create new components on the PCB, just as if I had no components at all on the PCB. Is there a way to re-link schematic symbol and footprint on the PCB?

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

In the current KiCad V5.1.8 there is unfortunately no option to do this.
In KiCad V5.99 (soon to become KiCad V6) there is a “paste special” command that can preserve the RefDes annotation.

For the current stable KiCad version, a possible workaround is:

• First print the schematic on paper, or plot to a .pdf file to have a reference.
  • Move blocks to the hierarchical sheets (This breaks references).
  • Manually assign the same Refdes values as you have on your paper or .pdf copy.
  • Update PCB from Eeschema with: [F8] / Match Method / [x] Re-associate footprints by reference

If during this process you get a popup for the annotation:

This means that some schematic symbols are still unannotated. Using the tool to annotate will assign new (and faulty) annotation.
Cancel the tool, find the unannotated symbols and assign the right annotation to the RefDes.

You can easily get an overview of all schematic symbols with:
Eeschema / Tools / Edit Symbol Fields

Thank you a lot for your great answer! :slight_smile:
May I sugest that “past special” will be the default way to past things, normally do I think people want to keep the “RefDes” and it’s only in special situations you want to lose that connection? :slight_smile: