Resolved - Very New to layout process

I’m not new to design and pcb manufacturing. I’m new to doing the actual footprints through layout and gerber files.

Question about using existing footprints that match the desired hole pattern and pad / drill sizes.

First off when looking at pin header connectors there are vertical and horizontal versions of the same part. Why not have one footprint? Is its the silk-screened labels? Can these parts be rotated and labels moved and rotated at will? Or are they fix to horizontal or vertical?

I’m wondering where the basic footprints are for something like an LED with 2.54 mm / 0.1 inch spacing. Looking over all the LEDs one would expect to find generic footprints. I did find, labeled 1.27mm not 2.54mm. Same question as above about rotating and moving labels.

Given this is a shield for Arduino UNO is there something that could be leveraged already defining spacing for mounting holes and pin connectors?

Not sure if understand well your questions.

Probably mainly because of 3D model.

LED-THT - LED3.0mm, LED5.0mm

The horizontal version of the footprint is for pin headers that have their pins on an angle. Like these:
img

Horizontal in the context of the kicad library refers to the connection direction. See https://www.kicad.org/libraries/klc/F3.6/

They use a different amount of board space compared to the straight ones. Which means the courtyard layer differs. In addition, of course the silk and fab layers are quite different as well as they show the details of such a part to make assembly easier.

Just look at both connectors in the preview or place them on a test board and you will see that they are very different.

I’m wondering why does one part have multiple footprints? Is it possible to select a horizontal version of a pin connector and rotate to be vertical before and/ or during the layout process?

I found generic footprint for the LED. All set there.

got it! I was thinking board placement not pin angle!!!

Thanks!