Replicate Layout moving footprints off grid

Hello,

I have a board I’m designing with about 100 relays, each with their own resistor and LED. I have set this up using hierarchical sheets so I can do the layout once, and apply it broadly. The plugin works, however all of the components in the replicated layouts have been moved off of the grid. In order to fix them, I have to manually move each component and trace, which totally defeats the purpose of using this plugin.

I must be missing something simple, as I’m new to KiCad. I’m running version 5.1.10 on Windows.

Thanks!

It could help if we knew how the replicated parts are meant to be positioned. Can you give a screenshot? (As a new forum user you may not have privileges to attach images yet; reading several topics can raise your trust level.)

Are the anchor footprints arranged on the grid? If yes, the plugin should keep the same relative distance between other replicated positions, so if the reference layout which you first do manually has all footprints on the grid, the replicated layouts should have them so, too.

It’s of course possible there’s a bug somewhere, but to confirm that we would probably need an example project with which we can replicate (not sorry for the pun) the problem.

Here’s a screenshot of the reference layout. As you can see, the relay footprint’s anchor is on the grid (I assume that’s what the blue cross on the right hand side is). I start the plugin by clicking on that blue cross, then clicking the replicate layout button.

Here’s a screenshot of a replicated layout, as you can see, everything has been shifted off of the grid.

Welcome derianlebreton,

If all else fails, you can move all your symbols and wires together by placing them in a block, altering the grid to something finer, maybe even 1 mil. (View / Grid settings), then moving the block.

First draw a short wire on the 50 mil. grid as a reference to where the block needs to be moved.