References from Symbol to Schematic Not Updating

Hi, I’m new to KiCad and was not able to find a similar question to solve my issue.

I am creating a simple high level wiring diagram only using eeschema and I’ve created symbols of all the components first with references i.e. ‘J20’ and then when I go into eeschema to import them the references change to ‘J?’ and I have to manually change them. I could make a reference in text on the symbol and that would transfer over, but I’d rather use the references so that when I go to update symbols, it will show the correct reference.

Any help would be appreciated and thanks in advance!

So each symbol of yours is only used once? Symbols are designed to be able to be instantiated multiple times in a schematic, so the reference number is chosen at schematic edit time.

That makes sense. So is there a purpose of putting a number after the letter in the symbol editor? Will it always be replaced with ?

@bebob235

You should place your individual part number in the “value” line not “ref” line.
Ref is just the position on the board and a way of equating footprints to symbols.

You can make “Ref” invisible globally by:
Schematic Editor / Edit / Edit Text & Graphic Properties / then in Scope tick Ref Des and bottom RHS untick “Visible”.

Just to clarify: usually when making a schematic the “ref” is left alone without numbering. When the schematic is complete you’d go to Tools / Annotate Schematic / Select what you desire / then Annotate.
This automatically gives an individual “Ref” number to every component on the schematic.
If you then “Update PCB” it will place the same numbers in the appropriate Ref fields of all the PCB footprints.

I have never even thought about it.
I would expect that such numbers used in reference name will become a part of reference so symbol with reference J20 placed at schematic I would expect to get J20? reference and then after annotation would get a reference J201 or J202, or … .