Real pinout in Schematic

Hi. I’m new to KiCAD.

Would like to know if it’s possible to load a “real” pin out instead of the schematic pin out for components. For example, When you load the ATMega328-P (28 pins model) it has all output/input pins on the right side, and power pins on the left side. Is there a way to load an schematic that has the “real” pin outs (14 on one side, 14 on the other in the correct datasheet order)?

That way, I think, it would be a lot easier to make an schematic with jumpers placed where they should.

Also, is there a way to make sure that the wire you just draw is REALLY connected? After loading the netlist in PCB mode, some components are NOT connected, and have to go back to schematic mode to delete and redraw the wire again, it is very frustrating… If not, where can I make a suggestion for a feature like this?

Thanks a lot.
Serp

Schematic symbols are usually drawn logically rather than “real” to make the diagram easier to draw and understand. MCUs like the Atmel are drawn with each Port pins grouped in bit order, to make drawing busses easy.and error free

3 Likes

A microcontroller (uC) is an exceptionally versatile component. Each pin typically has two, three, or even more possible functions depending on how the uC is configured and programmed. E.g., a pin that’s only an interrupt input in one application, might be a PWM output in another application, and a serial port data line in a third application. Although the uC manufacturers like to refer to a group of pins as a “port”, I seldom see them used as a group. Rather, one pin is dedicated to some system function, other pins are committed to some other system function, etc. Even in cases where the concept of a logical “port” seems to apply - say, driving a matrix of LED indicators, or sensing key presses from a matrixed keypad - the row or column signals may involve pins from several different “ports”.