Reading netlist but nothing happened

Hi all !

I’m a french engineering student using kicad for his school robotic association.

One of my fellow comrade designed a printed board for one of our robot. I need today to adjust it to match new goals.

So I change the schematic, the CvPcb associations and create the netlist. I also delete _pcb & _pcb-bak files (for make the design the cleanest possible I want to start pcb layout from scratch).

Then I start the Pcbnew tool. But after pressing netlist/read current netlist & close nothing happended ! :confused: (usually this put modules on the worksheet…)

I can upload the files (first unmodified and new one) if you need to.

Any help will be very much appreciated ! :slight_smile:

ps: I’m using build (2013-jul-07)-stable on 64 Bits GNU/Linux

Hi Charles,

i think be careful with the order you do the steps:

• make your changes in your schematic.
  • if you add new symbols - Annotate
  • export NetList
  • run CvPcb to associate footprints to symbols (hit the save button if you are done!!)
  • open Pcbnew
  • select and read netlist file

what do you get in the Message box?
there should be something like

Reading Netlist “C:_Local_DATA_projects\Test_PCB\Test_PCB.net”
Using component/footprint link file “C:_Local_DATA_projects\Test_PCB\Test_PCB.cmp”
Component [SW1]: footprint ‘x_Switch:smd_momentary_switch’ not found

(but without the ‘not found’ :wink: )

sunny greetings
stefan

Hi stefan,

Sorry for my delay. Thank you for your answer !

We have changed the design of our board, creating a totally new one. That time kicad work as well as usual.

I have not yet fixed the problem that I exposed to you. I will try to do so when I will have more time (for curiosity ^^).

Bye