Ratsnest not correct

I’m new to KiCad, and am trying to make a very simple PCB based on this schematic:

My understanding was that the footprint pad numbers had to match the component pin numbers and the mapping would be made. Unfortunately, the ratsnest is completely wrong on the PCB layout. As you can see, pins 1 and 2 of the capacitors are connected when they shouldn’t be and there is no connection to the inductor’s pins.

What am I doing wrong?

Can you tell us which Kicad version are you using and possibly post this project?

Tom

The problem with the inductor is it isn’t actually connected to those wires. There are small open squares at the ends of the inductor which indicate there is no connection.

3 Likes

J1 is a single 8 pin connector on the schematic but it’s 3 individual connectors on the layout & the L1 doesn’t seem to be connected to anything

Pat.

They probably aren’t connected. This is a known problem when rats run on top of others. When you do the routing you should see the correct highlighted components.

2 Likes

“Blubberbub” wrote a cool patch to use arcs for ratsnests that will probably go into 5.1.

You can see it in action in the pic linked to comment #14: https://bugs.launchpad.net/kicad/+bug/1766597 .

4 Likes

It appears that the Fab layer depicts J1 as an 8 pin connector; and the ratsnest agrees with the schematic.

It would probably be helpful if the OP had included the silkscreen layer.

Correct.

On your schematic, what is the pin number on the top of all the capacitors? Are you certain that they are all the same?

Also, your screen shot appears to show the footprint of a radial capacitor, which is commonly/typically an electrolytic capacitor; and if so it will have a polarity.

Even if the part is not polar in nature, a square pad on pin 1 (the positive pin) will also add to the build’s readability.