Rats Nest Incorrect Wiring

Hi,

I have a schematic with a 8 pin SOIC with pins 1 and 3 connected and 2 and 4 connected.

On creating the PCB the ratnest indicates 1 and 2 are connected (representing what should be 1 and 3) and 3 and 4 are connected (representing what should be 2 and 4).

Is it the case that the ratnest isn’t foolproof? I’m new to PCBNew and was relying on it to draw the wires, but I’m worried it’s done this mistake elsewhere.

Cheers,

Andrew

Post a screenshot of your schematic and of the result in pcb_new. (You might need to make two replies because new users are limited to one image per post.)

And make sure you have schematic and pcb_new in sync (export the netlist and import it in pcb_new just to be sure.)

And give us your kicad version details.

2 Likes

Like all software, KiCAD does exactly what you tell it to do. In most cases, what you tell it to do is what you want it to do. There are two common errors with the symptom you describe:

• A drafting error in the schematic. A connection line touches some place where you don’t want it to touch.

• An error in assigning footprints to the schematic symbols. A symbol may have the incorrect footprint pre-assigned. (This is possible, but uncommon considering the number of reviews and checks a symbol experiences before it is accepted into the official KiCAD library.) More commonly, the circuit designer may have assigned an incorrect footprint in the symbol’s “Properties”, or the designer may have assigned an incorrect footprint in “CvPCB”.

If that isn’t enough information to help you find the error, post at least a screenshot of the section of your schematic containing the affected IC. Posting the KiCAD schematic file would be more helpful but we understand about problems with proprietary information, etc.

Dale