Questions about assembly and tombstoning

Hi everyone! It’s my first time ordering PCB assembly and the manufacturer contacted me today about errors in my design that caused a lot of tombstoning. They claim I chose too big pads for the too small components and that’s causing issues in the assembly. They’re asking me 300 EUR to rework it, or they’ll send it as is, with errors.

I don’t understand, really, I used 0201 footprints and I ordered 0201 components for the assembly, I used KiCad for the design and I sent KiCad files to the manufacturer. Do 0201 footprints have pads that are too big for 0201 components? What should I do? Should I pay up the 300 EUR and get my boards reworked, should I refuse and ask for refund? Is it my fault? Is it their fault? I’m fine with sharing my PCB design here if it helps. I really need advice on this, I’m a beginner in this field and I’m feeling miserable at the moment.

what usually causes tombstoning is imbalance in “thermal impedance” between both pads. Be it a large plane on one side or large track on the other… Such things draw heat away unevenly and thus one pad will become “wet” before the other and surface tension will cause tombstoning.

what 0201 pads did you use as there are two variants

1. R_0201_0602Metric
  2. R_0201_0603Metric_Pad064x040mm_HandSolder

if you use #2 and also had imbalances in traces to either pad this could cause it

As to whether €300 is worth it… is it :slight_smile: how many cards, how much did you already spend? can you work with 0201? they might be banking on you not being able to work with 0201.

How many tombstoned parts? any pictures? if you have pictures could you post and also provide a screenshot of the associated pcb design