Questions about Altium2kicad (External tool)

while Searching to convert brd file to kicad
I find that there is Altium2kicad at the External tool menu in Kicad page.

So, I tried it, but I have no idea how to convert brd file into Kicad
I’ve download perl and execute it. and ran it (did it as explanation)
below is screenshot.

but then… I don’t know next step…
Actually I have no experience using software and coding like that
So it’s confusing… (and can’t find tutorial video)

In this case, Do you think i have to redesign pcb in kicad rather than finding convert way??
or If you can, could you explain how to convert brd file to kicad?
I’ve opened and confirmed brd file in the allegro viewer 17.2 and it works well.
(this brd file made by outsourcing, and now I want to modify it with Kicad. that is the reason why I explore and study kicad)

I think Altium gives you a means to save designs in PCAD ASCII format.
If you do that, KiCad can import that PCAD file directly, and it seems to work quite well.

2 Likes

As described in the readme https://github.com/thesourcerer8/altium2kicad/blob/master/README.md

You meed to rum convertscema.pl and convertpcb.pl as well. You should then get sch and kicad_pcb files.

1 Like

If you can’t get AltiumToKiCad to work, but have gerbers you can open them in gerbview (Gerber viewer of KiCad) and then export to a KiCad Pcb.

This is far from perfect because a lot of info is simply not in the gerber files, but you can at least recover the board outline with mounting holes and all the tracks.

Most (All ?) pads tend to get converted to THT pads, which preserves their anchor points, so you can pretty easily replace them with real Footprints after conversion to a .kicad_pcb.

1 Like

Hi, nickoe

I think that operating step is

1. When I save Altium file, I have to save Altium format as including extension .pcbdoc and .schdoc
  2. then open perl software
  3. Sources : convertpcb.pl or convertschema.pl