Python bindings not available to system python from OS console

There is still the issue with python API not being available to system python from OS console

V6:

$ find /usr -name "*pcbnew.so"
/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/_pcbnew.so

V7:

$ find /usr -name "*pcbnew.so"
/usr/lib/kicad/lib/python3/dist-packages/_pcbnew.so

On win 10, similarly, more than half of the plugins in v7 do not work

This is likely due to the python API changes. As a plugin writer, I first have to setup plugin development environment under V7 before I start fixing the plugins to work with V7.

Did I understand that closer to the 8th version, all plugins will be set up and then everything is new? Change the format of plugin API change libraries?))

I don’t know if I understand what you are alluding to, so we might need a bit more words to understand each other properly.

Furthermore, I can only speak for my plugins. And for them, I expect that I’ll finish fit the porting of my plugins in a week or so.

Judging by the tests, all plugins made on the python without updating do not work in v7… I am not a programmer and I cannot say for sure share my observations

Yeah that is to be expected as the python API changes quite significantly. But plugin authors tend to update the plugins, and I know some of them are already V7 compatible. You will need to update the plugins though. But I imagine that it will not take a year (when V8 is planed for release) for the plugin authors to update them.

I am afraid though that when V8 comes out, we’ll go thorugh the same process again.

Can they be built into the system? As for example, this happened with a file converter from other cad both diagrams and printed circuit boards

Oh, I was fighting this thing too. Thanks for posting this.

How be it was not the first few months without the usual plugins will be tight)

The could, but then the plugin authors would most likely (me included) be the main reason for the delay of the KiCad release.