Putting components on both sides of the PCB

Hello there!

I’m designing a 1 layer PCB and I have all my components as through holes. I’d like to put some components on one side of the PCB and others on the other side to decrease space. Knowing that, is there a way to put the components in the PCB Editor so it shows that intention? All I get is the red from the overlapping.

Note: This is my first time designing a PCB

Thanks in advance!

Press F to flip the component to the other side of the PCB

1 Like

Note that making an actual 1-layer PCB (without plated-through holes) is probably a mistake these days, unless you have an extremely good and well-considered reason for doing it.

Single layer PCB’s are indeed becoming rarer, but there is at least one good reason and another plausible reason for it. It’s used a lot in mass produced FR2, and also for home etching (which can give you a result in hours, instead of days).

There is a reason I’m making a 1-layer PCB, yes. I have a PCB assembler in my university which can do 2-layer PCBs instead of 1 but, from what I’ve been told, it’s kind of hard to do so because you have to make sure you align it just right…

It’s true that paying attention is important for alignment.

To help Alignment of Top/Btm, some options are:

• Use a Guide-Pin
• Use a Fiducial
• Use a Hole - either a THT or NPTH or Edge-Cut-Layer hole
(the three items in lower-left corner)

Quick-dumb example (not a real circuit)

My suggestion / idea for DIY etching of double sided PCB’s:

1. Draw something on an unused layer (alignment cross, text, some footprint, whatever) outside of the Edge.Cuts.
  2. When you print the foils for lighting, make sure you also print that layer “on all file outputs” (Option during Gerber creation).
  3. Also put some readable text on each of the copper layers, outside of Edge.Cuts. (To easily determine mirror image of the transparent output.