Problem with BOM and Plugins

I can’t seem to generate a BOM or add a plugin. I’m new to KiCad, I have a schematics with no ERC errors (figured that out), and looking to make a BOM file in CSV file. I’ve been to many utube videos and pages on GitHub. Would also like to try Interactive BOM. Do I need to make a PCB first? What could I be doing wrong? Any help would be great! I’m using ver 5.1.5 on Win 10
Thanks

Usually the plugins provide some examples.
To generate the CSV list, KiCad (Eeschema, the software for schematics) generate a XML output file and convert the data, in your case, to a CSV. If there isn’t any part (components) added to the schematic, the XML file will be not generated, other problem that I realize that the project have to be created (not only open the Eeschema):

1. Create the project (open the software KiCad);
  2. Add your parts and save (into the Eeschema);
  3. There is a shortcut for “Generate a output bill of materials” in the top side bar;
  4. Choice the xml2csv plugin.

There is also a lot of plugins (you can found here in the forum) that can be installed into Eeschema. I like to use KiCost.

Interactive BOM is a “action plugin” of Pcbnew (KiCad’s software for pcb layout). Just copy the project code into the plugins folder of your KiCad installation (here I will need some Windows user to inform the path).

After design your PCB just click in the icon of Interactive BOM in Pcbnew, the dialog box of the plugin will open.

In the future is planned some easy way to users install the plugins.

The interactive BOM plugin is an extension of pcbnew and really only makes sense if you have a layout (it allows to display your part placements in a browser an easily highlight groups of parts)

For me (5.1.5, Win 7) the Tools->Generate Bill of Materials… then select one of plugins shown in left window and [Generate] button works well.