Problem when saving a .lib or .sch file

I am new to KiCad but I have used Cad programs for many years. I wanted to try KiCad because my old Ultiboard V5.56 is outdated. Vhen I started a new project with KiCad, I had to make some new parts to the library. When I tried to save the new component(symbol) everything seems to work. I could import the part to the schematic editor, place it and fetch other components. When saving the .sch and closed the program no fault messages were reported. But when I opened the program the next day and tried to load the .sch, the new component was missing, just a question mark and the name of the component was presented. Also the saved component library was missing. When I looked in the direcrory were they should be I found the files but they were saved as Altium files. I have tested an evaluation version of Altium so the PC seems to believe that the KiCad files are Altium files and save them as this.
How do I fix this? I use Windows 10.
Regards, KjKa

Well i don’t think they are really altium files. Your operating system just associates the file type .lib as an altium file.
(This is because a long time ago people thought it would be a good idea to define the file type via a part of the name. Maybe a better way would have been to use some sort of file header. But well it’s to late to think about something like that.)

I assume you are using kicad v4.x
About your problem. It seems a bit strange to me. Normally when you insert a symbol it should be put into the local cache library. (there should be a <project_name>-cache.lib file in your project directory.)
This file should contain the information about all used symbols. As long as you don’t delete this file nothing like you described up there should happen.

Please check the following.
1.) give us your kicad version. (otherwise we are a bit in the dark)
2.) Is this cache lib in your project folder.
3.) Did you create a project or did you open the schematic editor as standalone?