Problem Importing DXF

I’m just learning, so don’t flame too hard please :slight_smile: I want to design a new board that must match a front panel design. I import the DXF file for my panel, but I only get the outline of the panel drawing, none of the holes in the panel are imported. Is this a bug or something I’m doing wrong?

Thanks for any help,

Buddy

Welcome. Can you let us know what version you are using? Would it be possible for you to post a screenshot of the outline in the native software?

Knowing your version is often the first step in giving help to you. KiCAD is under very active development and there are significant differences between the “official” version (currently 4.0.7) and the "nightly " development builds.

I’ve used the “Import DXF” feature a few times but I’m far from familiar with it. I’ll make two suggestions:

• Make sure your *.DXF file was saved in a dialect of DXF that KiCAD is fluent in. As I recall, that’s the (quite old) Version R12. Later versions have commands and constructs that KiCAD’s DXF-Importer doesn’t understand. You can get the Version R12 by opening your *.DXF in, say, LibreCAD then doing “Save As” and selecting “DXF R12” as the file format.

• Use a mechanical CAD program to move all of the holes, cutouts, etc, to the same drawing layer as the outline. Then “Save As” a Version R12 file, and import into KiCAD.

Dale

2 Likes

Thanks for the help. The KiCad version is 4.0.7 on windows 10 64-bit. I will try exporting in an older version of the DXF format.

Dale,

Saving the DXF in an older format did the trick, thank you so much for your fast help!

Buddy