Porting to PowerLogic to kicad

Hi. I’m not a hardware designer.
In the past I hired a hardware designer to make a hardware project. He did the work using PowerLogic. Is it possible to port the project (or a parte of it) into kicad?
Which is the way?

Regards.

Kicad is a printed circuit board design tool. I am not sure PowerLogic is such a tool.
All i could find was a tool by Schneider Electronic to configure some meters.

Could you provide a link to the software your designer used?

I think that PowerLogic and PowerPCB are brands used by Mentor Graphics, or maybe they acquired them.

Yeah it’s an old tool now under the Mentor/PADS branding (I think it’s now called PADS Logic but it’s not clear to me if they even still support it, I think they want everyone to use DX Designer now)

AFAIK, there is no current way to import to KiCad, and a way could only be written if someone can link to a specification for the file format and preferably some example files to test.

1 Like

There was a user here who was interested in PADS format, his idea was to get all suppliers to use it as a “standard” format. Not sure how far he got with that…

In general, the only format that can be directly imported as a project into KiCad is Eagle. There is some partial support for other formats importing into pcbnew. There are various third party tools and other FOSS tools that can do conversions, I have seen people use free versions of popular CAD tools as intermediate steps.

Usually the route is convoluted and the project gets somewhat mangled on the way, so it is rather questionable how useful it is. I think if you have a project that is worth maintaining, it is worth creating fresh in KiCad.

You can probably pay $50 or less to get someone to do a project conversion, that seems like a worthwhile timesaver.

The PADS ASCII format is documented, at least. I don’t know of a similar document for the PowerLogic schematic format.

ftp://ftp.freecalypso.org/CAD/PADS/pdfdocs/Ppcb_ASCII.pdf