Please advise on bottom layer GND pour (zone)

Hi there. I was following the popular DigiKey YT tutorial on KiCad, and towards the end of the process, copper pour zones for GND are introduced. I used this successfully on my front side, but I wonder if there is any reason / advantage why one would do this as well on the bottom side in a case like mine, where I can comfortably connect the remaining eight pads that need GND with a straight thick trace. Other than that, my bottom side only contains two signal traces. For comparison, here are my front and back Cu layers (GND on the bottom is the thick vertical line on the right-hand side):

Would you advise changing my single thick bottom GND trace with another pour / zone? Is it somehow better protected, or does it just make the process more expensive?

Board houses like to have copper balance, meaning that the amount of copper should be approximately equal on both sides. I have no experience, how relevant this is for comparatively small boards like yours, but anyways…
And: no, it does not infer additional cost.

1 Like

Once you get into higher speed signal handling, a continuous (uninterrupted GND plane becomes mandatory. On top of that a good GND plane increases signal integrity and reduces radiation and is therefore better for EMC.

I can see the first layer has a lot of red, but the resolution is too low to judge if it’s a decent GND plane.
Instead, I’d forget about the top layer and use the whole bottom layer as a continuous GND plane.

If you want to do this right, then that also means you have to remove that single green track from the bottom layer, because it interrupts your GND plane.