Placing tracks on the back side of PCB in Eschema

Hi,
I’m working on a board that has numerous vias where tracks suddenly end on the front side and continue on the back of the board.

I cannot find a way to designate tracks in Eschema as being on any side other than the front side.

Am I missing something? Placing all tracks regardless of which side they will actually be on in the PCB seems to be an inefficient way of laying out the schematic?

Should there be a choice of FRONT SIDE wire AND BACK SIDE WIRE in Eschema?
Seems to me the ability to place wires on the back side in Eschema and color them Green by default with Front side wires being Red to match PCBNew would be wonderful as also blend into PCBNew better?

I could be totally wrong here of course. I’m relatively new to KiCAD which by the way I regard as an incredibly genius work of art by some extremely talented developers.

The short answer is, you start on the layer your pad is on (any layer if it is through hole). If you want to switch sides, you press ‘v’ for via. It places a via and switches to the other side.

To choose the layer that you want to start on you can click it in the right layer list (like F.Cu or B.Cu), or you can press + or - to toggle between layer pairs.

You can set up layer pairs in File > Board Setup. The click on “Layers” in the left tree that pops up. There you can setup the number of signal layers for your board.

1 Like

Are you referring to Eschema or PCBNew ?

No !!
There is no reason to design pcb at schematic.
You can cross wires at schematic and they are not connected with each other. You can’t cross tracks at the same layer at PCB to not be connected with each other.

2 Likes

I still think having a choice of Red or Green wire in Eschema (designating front or back side in Eschema) would be a better way to lay out the schematic.

You wouldn’t be designing the pcb at schematic, you would be simplifying the schematic and making it integrate into PCBNew easier.