Placement of large input caps

Hello all,
I would really appreciate some advice on a project.
I am working on a board that is driving a relatively high current heater (~1.5A) switching @ 30V.
To stabilize voltage, I have a 5600 uF cap on the input. I also have a 1.5A fuse and reverse polarity protection via an n-channel MOSFET (4.4A).
My concern is that when I connect power, the cap will trip the fuse, as it is placed after the fuse and MOSFET and perhaps I should place it in front of the fuse and rev.pol. protection, but then the cap is not protected.
I am not very experienced with power supply design, so I would appreciate your expert advice :slight_smile:

Here’s the input circuit:

Surge currents through big capacitors are a serious design consideration.
Even capacitors as small as 100uF can have such high currents that they damage connector pins over time.

Your MOSfet won’t help much, because it’s body diode is conducting it’s current.
You can try adding a capacitor between the gate and source of the MOSfet, this may help to turn it on slowly (combined with R32).

But overall. This is not an electronics forum. A site like eevblog.com is much better suited for that. This forum is for helping people work with the KiCad software.

1 Like

At the risk of continuing a thread not related to KiCad, what you mean by stabilize voltage? Remove ripple or actually keep the voltage fixed? Using the formulae Q = CV and Q = It, shows that the time that the capacitor can continue to provide about 1.5 A current is of the order of a tenth of a second. Wouldn’t it be better to design an active stabilizer and incorporate soft turn on? Sorry I don’t know much beyond that.

If you expect 1.5A I would rather considered 3A fuse.
I’m not fuse expert but they are divided into fast and slow (or may be there are more classes).
I think the first question is what do you know about power source connected to your circuit.