Pin not driven - yet connected

Hi,

this is driving me crazy

I am a complete noob to kicad, so I try to make a schematic, then subdivide it for clarity, using pin labels (ports?)

now when I run a check all my pins are triggering errors in the rule checker

what do I do wrong ?

thanks for your help

https://forum.kicad.info/search?q=pin%20connected%20to%20other%20pins%20but%20not%20driven%20by%20any%20pin%20category%3A19

it’s connected to a power pin (vcc and +5V) it should not trigger an alarm
hence my post

You have to add the: “PWR_FLAG” symbol to the Vcc net (and probably also to the GND net. Search this forum for “PWR_FLAG” to learn what it is and how it works.

why is it not automatic, if I choose VCC or +5V, it’s obviously not a piece of chicken

If it was automatic, it would defeat the purpose, which is to help the designer think about what they are doing.

Seems to have worked perfectly :slight_smile:

Btw, you probably only need the +5V power label. But none of them provide power.

1 Like

Please do some reading before commenting.
There are very good reasons and this subject has been spelled out tens of times on this forum.

1 Like

yep indeed, makes sens…so as far as I understand it is needed for standalone boards not connected to regulators and such

sorry for the dumb question, it will take a while to change my habbits from eagle

You also only need one GND label.

1 Like

is it not what I’ve done ?

You don’t need a GND global label as well as the GND symbol. Use one or the other. GND symbols are connected automatically anyway.

1 Like

thx, I was wondering which one to use, labels or components

For GND or power, I prefer the power symbols. Some people use global labels for power.

You have also added local labels which is superfluous, and will be overridden anyway.

1 Like

local labels ? you mean +5V ? I’ll remove them

Edit: i just added a screenshot to my tutorial to show how each label type looks like and what button adds each of them.