PCBWay - seeking help/developers for automating KiCAD data parsing/checking

I am a PCBWay manager, we PCBWay is a prototype and assembly manufacturer (maybe someone here has ever used our service). Generally our engineers need to check clients file before they can place order. Now we want to upgrade our service which can help us get the file parameters directly (the size,the Min Track width,the min Spacing, Min Hole Size ,usually gerber format) when our clients upload their files.

I have talked about this with Mr.Wayne Stambaugh (the Project Leader of Kicad), and he said actually it is achievable with Kicad function while the problem is that he is too busy to do this. So I would like to ask if there is anyone available here who can help us with this? Of course we will pay the commission. If you are interested in please send mail to me anson at pcbway.com

[edit, Joan]
changed title and tried to scramble email a bit, so it’s not useable by bots

2 Likes

Please specify exactly what paramaters you are trying to automate. Knowing what constraints fabs look for could help improve the DRC rules to help with this.

I am not an active developer. But clear and well explained requirements are more likely to be implimented soon.

1 Like

If I understood you correctly, you want to verify uploaded design files automatically.

A python script for that would

1. load the pcbnew module
  2. open the design file
  3. override the DRC settings
  4. refill the zones (people tend to forget that)
  5. run DRC
  6. override the plot settings (use the same origin point for Gerber and drill files!)
  7. plot and generate drill files

I believe there should be somewhat usable scripts for that already.