Pcbnew keeps crashing constantly after RAM upgrade

Hello!

I have a very weird issue after upgrading my RAM from 2 x 4GB to 2 x 8GB of RAM on my laptop. At least that is the only change I can think of that could cause this:

Pcbnew is constantly crashing. And with constantly I mean:

• Upon (mouse) zooming the first time
  • Upon deselecting a layer
  • Upon switching zone display mode
  • Upon zooming with the dropdown menu and then moving the mouse afterwards

Pretty much anything that involves graphics somehow. I am pretty clueless. Does pcbnew produce any log files or something? I have been using pcbnew for a good 8 years by now and never had something like this (well, the early days probably…).

I am running KiCad 5.0.2 on Ubuntu 16.04.1

Any help appreciated!

//edit
Out of despair I tried now to sandbox pcbnew (firejail) - that actually makes it work without crashing…

This sounds like hardware/driver problem, most probably KiCad doesn’t have such a bug that it would react to memory upgrade. Have you used other software which requires accelerated graphics like 3D games? Have you run memtest?

1 Like

As this problem seemed to appear after a mem upgrade an extensive memory test seems the first thing to try.

When did you do the memory upgrade? Any problems with other programs?

I use no other programs with accelerated 3D graphics - at least I’m not aware of. (I recently played through vmscumm Day of the Tentacle tho :joy:) I bought original Samsung RAM, so no cheapo hardware…

I did the upgrade around 1 week ago and I could notice it with Pcbnew immediately, thought it to be a bug first though but the crashes persistet. No problems with any other programs.

I can run a memtest later today, I am at work right now.

Again: Are there any logfiles being produced or can I produce logfiles somehow?

At least for now sandboxing it is a workaround :slight_smile:

//edit
Ah, wait yeah I did actually use another program: 0 A.D. - that had no problems…