[pcbnew error msg] "Copper belongs to a net with no pads" - help needed

I’m new to kicad and to making PCBs in general. I’m trying to making a PCB for a project and ran into this error

“Copper belongs to a net with no pads. This is strange. Zone outline (56F5D98E) [GND] on B.Cu.”

My project involves 3 components DC jack, ESP8266 breakout board and a sensor. There wasn’t a component available for the Esp8266 and the sensor so I created them. I was trying to fill both the F.CU and B.CU with the GND net with thermal relief.

Can anyone explain how to fix the error I am receiving?

Thanks in advance!

Sorry I’m still new at kicad. Was there any other way to show the bottom layer or is this fine?

Did you create this board using a netlist (and schematic), or did you just place the three footprints?

Dale

PCBnew… right hand toolbar (Visibles).
Uncheck F.Cu and check B.Cu in the ‘Layer’ tab…
For SMDs (you got TH components there) one also switches off the respective Pads/Footprints under the ‘Render’ tab (not needed for your case atm).

Hm, would there be a ‘GND’ net that the copper can connect to?
Also the F.Cu zone did fill and connect to the correct pads of the ESP adapter…
So there must be a netlist.

@guevaral
How did you create the B.Cu filled zone?
Via right click menu on the F.Cu zone and then ‘Duplicate Zone’?

Can you get us a screenshot of the properties of the zone as well please?

Originally I tried manually drawing both the F.Cu and B.Cu when I posted my question. I tried using the “duplicate zone onto layer” option and I am still getting the same error.

Interesting… I can’t remember having the ‘GND’ entry at the bottom of that list… ever.
It’s usually the first after < no net >… can you check the top of that list please and see what you got there?

Now would also be a good time to have a look at your schematic.
You somehow managed to create a GND net without anything connected to it…

Do you have a link for that ESP breakout board?