PCBNEW, drawing a center line on edge cuts

I’m new to KiCAD & using ver 4.0.2. I’m drawing a rectangle shape on the Edge cuts layer & was wondering is there is a way to snap another line at right angles to the middle of one of the sides without having to calculate where the middle is. I know that sounds very lazy but the reason i’m asking is I’m sure i saw it done in a tutorial once upon a time but i can’t remember where. Any advice would be welcome

Thanks,

Pat

No, KiCAD’s drawing tools aren’t that advanced. I don’t know if that kind of feature is on the development roadmap.

Many of us do board outlines with an external mechanical CAD program, and import the *.DXF file into KiCAD. It’s a little cumbersome - the most annoying thing is mentally switching back and forth between the commands, shortcuts, and features of the CAD program, then the shortcuts, etc, of KiCAD. I use the no-charge “LibreCAD” but there are others. I use this process even for simple rectangular boards because I can easily define the rectangle, add a radius to the corners, and mark significant locations (e.g., mounting holes, connectors, etc) in LibreCAD where KiCAD forces me to do a bunch of calculations, write down coordinates, etc.

Dale

1 Like