Pcbnew and eeschema are "stealing" focus to each other

Hi all,

I’ve been using KiCad for at least three years for my hobby projects and I think it’s getting better with each new version. But I’ve noticed even one thing which makes me a bit frustrated in the last couple of versions. Couple of version ago, I noticed that when I select part in eeschema it highlights in pcbnew and vice versa. It’s a great helper I think, especially if you have two screens (or one huge one :slight_smile: ) and you can see simultaneously in eeschema what part you are moving in pcbnew. In the past this feature worked great for me but I started having troubles couple of months ago. I can’t say which version was the first where the issue has started for me, because I don’t have much time to develop electronics during the summer… Whats been happening: Today when I run eeschema and pcbnew simultaneously, every time I select part in eeschema the pcbnew window gets focused and raised. It’s annoying if you have only one screen. One solution is to have only one KiCad window open according what I need to do (eeschema or pcbnew). When I use two monitors (eeschema and pcbnew on their own screens) the situation is a slight better. “Stealing” the focus is still here, but it’s enough to slightly move the mouse pointer to get focus back (I use Linux with Plasma desktop and the window behavior is “Focus follows the mouse”). Today I tested what happens if I change this windows behavior (somewhere I’ve read that could be a solution) and discovered that it doesn’t matter what behavior of my window manager I set. I found that the eeschema and pcbnew windows behave normal in relation with other application windows (text editor, web browser etc.) but differently between themselves. I found that when the mouse pointer touches the work area the whole respective window (eeschema or pcbnew) gets immediately focus and raises above the another KiCad window. Highlighting of the part in the work area is probably the