PCB manual signal or net lines

OK, let me start out by saying I am COMPLETELY new to KiCad. Am trying to convert over from Eagle 7.7.0. I have had success in converting my PCB’s to KiCad and even my libraries, but I am just setting things up and have not had a chance to dig into the ‘proper’ way to design or modify my boards. I have been designing PCB’s for long enough that I started doing them manually with the old black tape. When I finally switched to PC based programs, even Eagle, I figured out how to to the PCB layout without going through the schematic step because I was used to that and needed to design things quickly without figuring out the schematic portion of the software. I regret that decision now, but that is where I am. I am going to try and go the correct route from now on, but in the transition and for modifying existing old EAGLE PCB’s without schematics in the system, I have a question…

I am used to simply laying out the PCB and manually placing parts, then connecting each net that should be connected using Eagle’s ‘signal’ selection which lets you simply click on a pin and to all other pins of devices that should be connected together and it strings those little electrical connection wires all over the place. If I make ground planes or some shape and name it the same as I name one of the nets, it will automatically add a wire to that net. That way it will let me manually route each net.

Is there a way to do that in KiCad? I don’t always want to do that, but I don’t want to have to enter all my old schematics just to modify something simple (at least not at first).

Thanks… David

In KiCad V5.1.x there is no such thing.
In KiCad-nightly V5.99 there are some ways to add to and manipulate the netlist directly in the PCB Editor.

Overall KiCad depends a lot on the netlist. Not only for making the right connections, but also for maintaining the proper clearances between nets that do not connect to each other.