.pcb file problem

Hi, before getting started, sorry for my bad english.
I’m an electronics student living in argentina, one of my professors wants an especific circuit in a “.pcb” file.
I’ve thought that kicad already works with that type of file so i simply started designing and everything.
But at the moment of exporting the respective file, i couldn’t do it in a .pcb file, only on .brd.
It’s there any way that i could export on that type of file, or convert it?
Any help will be apreciated.
Thanks

Sounds like your professor wanted Eagle files.

I think the best thing you can do is introduce KiCad to your classmates and professor.

1 Like

CAD in general (not just electronic CAD) is plagued by the lack of proper exchange formats. This means it is typically not possible to get a file generated in one CAD program into another one (at least not such that the full feature set of the target program can be used on it and definitely not to be able to inspect design parameters).

There are however exceptions. Some tools (like KiCad) implement importers for files generated in other formats. These importers are however always going to be lossy (as the feature sets differ between systems and not everything can be directly mapped from one to another).

Which is why i am confused by the wording of the “requirement”. If a professor uses a certain tool then i suspect that they state this clearly from the get go. And not by defining the file ending but by clearly saying something like “this exercise (or course) must be done in tool X of version Y”. I would further expect that their teaching aids will all be specific to that tool as well.
And the IT department of the school (or university or whatever) will of course need to offer the tool in question for students (assuming it requires a license) or at least some form of explanation on how to get it.