PCB design for QFN reflow soldering

Hello!
I am new to soldering and PCBs so excuse me if my questions are basic
My project is reading the data of an accelerometer
with raspberryPI.
I downloaded the layout and footprint for the ADC
and it’s ready.
I would like to design the soldering points for the sensor because the footprint isn’t available online

1. I didn’t find anything for QFN or reflow soldering (Square), but just points for pin soldering.
  2. Can you give me advice for the layers that I should use?
  3. Is there anything to design other than the connections between the ADC --> sensor and the pins to connect directly to my RaspberryPI?

Don’t hesitate to ask me for more clarification.
Thankyou for your advice and replies.

The datasheet you linked to is for an ADS7038 and it is in a “WQFN” package. It’s 3 by 3 millimeters. That thing is so small that if you accidentally drop it on the floor, you’re unlikely to ever find it again. On top of that it also has 16 connections.
These chips are not very well suited for beginners because of their small size.

What does this mean:

Downloading a layout?
Maybe you are referring to page 71 of the datasheet:

The normal procedure here is to make a schematic symbol (or modify an existing one. the ADS7038 is not in KiCad’s default libraries, then link it to the WQFN package, put it all on the PCB and draw the tracks. The example from TI is just that. It’s an example, and it’s not a very interesting example for this simple IC.

WQFN package with 16 pads is a part of KiCad’s default libraries:

I’m not sure whether you should use the version with the 1.6mm exposed center pad, or the 1.75mm. The datasheet says it has a 1.66mm exposed pad.

It needs power and GND. It also needs a reference voltage, and of course the decoupling capacitors.
I do not know what the I/O voltage is for the raspi. You do have to check if it’s compatible with the ADS7038.

1 Like

Thank you for this constructive reply!