Passing comments from schematic to PCB

Im new to KiCad. I just made a PCB and I found myself making notes on a piece of paper like “place 100k R close to J2” or “put silkscreen SDA and SCL next to J3 pin 4 and 5”.

I was wondering if maybe there is any functionality in KiCad itself that I can make comments like that in the schema editor so that they show up in the PCB editor?

It’s common to make text notes either in a text box in Eeschema, or in a separate file, (Or indeed on just a piece of paper) but duplicating such notes in Pcbnew usually is not very useful. I quite often use a text box wit a table of notes in Eeschema myself.

KiCad-nightly V5.99 has “text variables” which can sync between the schematic and the PCB. These can for example be used to have a version number on the PCB update if it’s changed in the schematic, but this is not very useful for generic notes.

You can place a (multi line) text box, both in Eeschema and in Pcbnew and you can copy / paste text between them, but duplicating the same notes in different locations is more confusing then useful.

I meant in particular comments/fields that are attached to a certain symbol/component, even before annotating. On my piece of paper I often had to refer to components by their value because they didn’t have a designator yet. It would be great if I could just add a field to a symbol and those fields would show up in the PCB editor.

Using two screens is very helpful - schematic in one screen and layout on the other. You can cross probe between components.

You can label lines on your schematic - these net names will then be visible in the layout - you will still need to remember to add the silkscreen but the names will carry over.

In a commercial environment the layout notes should be either on the schematic or in a document called out on the schematic.