Part finder badly needed

First I would like to apologize for the rest of this rather frustrated topic.
Here’s the situation: I’ve set up a schema in Fritzing, but I would like to transfer it to a more sophisticated package like Kicad (I do like the option that footprints can freely be assigned to components).

So I am totally new to Kicad (actually it is maybe my third try at it), but please: I simply want to place a component on a schema. I don’t know which library it could possibly be in, and frankly I don’t care. You go choose between Microcontrollers/Microchip 1/Microchip 3/PIC%^$% and the rest. I expect a searchbox, put in a name or reference and get some options. I can totally understand why so many people wind up designing their parts for Kicad, they just can not find to good stuff others already put a lot of work into. Surely, this is not what ‘shareware’ is about.
Can somebody please build a good partfinder? As I understand the rest of the software is pretty good, but I haven’t yet found the most basic components (Molex connectors and such) for my design. The worst thing is, that they must definitely be somewhere. (And I refuse to Google for every stupid component I need within a piece of software!)

Again, sorry. Maybe I just missed something as a newby to Kicad. But I’ve been into computers for years and this library/part thing really needs some re-thinking.

Regards,
Marc

Yes this could be improved greatly. It’s not that far off. The part search within Eeschema was improved significantly lately.

Really I think the categorization is a big problem (like you said). You can send pull-requests for libaries through github https://github.com/KiCad

But renaming all those repos and moving stuff around is another matter.

Shareware means something else than you think by the way. KiCad is free and open-source software.

Yeah, I found my MCP23017 GPIO extender in the lib “Integrati per trasmissione” by some Italian guy, you go figure. Took me about half an hour…