P Channel Mosfet symbols and footprints

Im new to KiCad, and am struggling with MOSFETS. I have a schematic which uses logic levels to switch a 2N3904 transistor that switches a P-Channel MOSFET on and off (NDP6020P). I have the data sheet and I cant seem to find either a generic or specific symbol for the MOSFET. Here is the symbol from the data sheet:

Any help would be appreciated!

Search for pmos
KiCad has as many symbol variants for p channel as for n channel

1 Like

Are you looking for a symbol (for schematic) as your message indicates, or a footprint (for PCB) as the message category indicates?

1 Like

I did that, but non of the configurations have the source, gate and drain as depicted in the symbol I posted.

Im looking for both symbol and footprint. Did I select the wrong topic?

OK. I’m looking. They only have pin numbers but I think in every possible configuration. That is the important part. You need to match pin numbers to the correct function.

From there you can mirror it top to bottom and suddenly one of the library symbols will look like this one. :wink:

1 Like

Well, there isn’t a topic for both. Since choosing the right symbol is heavily dependent on the part package, the category does fit.

I see in your original post that you have a specific pMOSFET part number. You will need to get a hold of the datasheet for that part because you need to know which pin number is which pin function. Several models of mosfets that use the same package may not agree on pin number to function, and the same model in different packages may have different pin-outs as well. If that model has several packages, you need to decide on which one you will use. The symbols in the standard libraries are labeled SGD, DSG, etc. Those are the pin 1, 2, and 3 order. So for the first example SGD, pin 1 = Source, pin 2 = Gate, and pin 3 = Drain.