Overlapping Pads

hello all.
I want to add increase the annular ring diameter of my through-hole pad only on one side of the PCB. Is it possible ? One way I thought of is by adding a Surface Mount pad on the pad on reverse side but it shows error of pad too close to pad. Can anyone guide on how to do this? I am new to kicad so I am sorry if this is a silly question. Thanks in advance.

It should work if you give both pads - the through hole and the SMD - the same pad number.

A somewhat easier approach…

Example: Let’s say you have a Part with the same Pad on Fcu & Bcu and want to change the Fcu Pad to a different size/geometry

1. Double-Click the Pad. Set ‘Copper’ to Bcu (was All), OK
  2. Copy the Part. Paste the Part (offset it a good distance - temporarily)
  3. Double-Click the Pad on the Copied/Pasted Part
  4. Set Pad geometry as desired, Set Copper to Fcu, OK
  5. Move the Part to make Overlaid on top of Original.

Now you have a Part with Original Pad on Bcu and New Pad with desired shape on Fcu.
Now, you can Window-Box it, Copy it and Paste it as many times as desired.

[EDIT I replaced photo#1. Ignore Pad Number2 in Steps3&4 was the wrong photo)

Screen Shot 2020-10-30 at 1.16.15 PM

RESULTS (Front & Back)
Screen Shot 2020-10-30 at 12.30.55 PM
Screen Shot 2020-10-30 at 12.31.07 PM
Pasted Multiple Times
Screen Shot 2020-10-30 at 12.32.19 PM

1 Like

yes. thanks mate. it worked. I just changed the net and it worked. thanks anyways :")

I liked this approach and I will try it for sure.

The 2 methods are very similar.
The only difference is that Eelik stacks an SMD pad on top of the other, while BlackCoffee uses a copy of the existing pad.

Drilling 2 holes in the same location is not ideal. It wastes (a bit) of production time. But much worse: when the holes are not in the exact same location, the drills will bend and break, and for this reason there is a big chance that your PCB manufacturer refuses your board.