Overlapping Pads Not Connected

I’ve been using Kicad for a couple years now and love this tool. But I’ve now run into a problem, I haven’t been able to solve.

Made this LED footprint out of overlapping and adjacent rectangles. Even with the pads having the same names, pcbnew isn’t convinced some pads are connected and shows rats between the overlapping pads. But, when I output gerbers the Cu is as I intend. I can make pcbnew happy by overlaying traces to connect the sections but I’d rather understand the root cause for this behavior.

The attached pic is from Kicad version 5.0.1 but I tested it under 4.0.7 too and the behavior is the same.

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

I think this effect is a clearance artifact.
Your 1.GND pad has a relatively large clearance - much more than pin 2.
The fill areas pull back by that clearance.
It seems strange to have an own-net clearance higher than other nets, so you might want to dig to see why/where that is happening. Do you have clearance set by pad maybe ?

Just checked every pad in the footprint and the pads are all set the same. All clearances are set to 0 so the pads should get their clearances from the parent or netclass. Not sure what the parent is in this context but the net classes are all set to a 8mil clearance.

Have you looked into the custom pad shape tool introduced in 5.x? (Note, they aren’t backwards compatible with 4.x or earlier.)

Custom pads do not work with thermals. They can only use solid connection.

It is also quite hard to get rounded corners with the current drawing tools. (you would need to set the polygon thickness to two times your required radius and inset the polygon by the radius. Quite hard to achieve without scripts)

However this footprint can still be simplified by using rounded rectangle pads instead of 4 circular plus 2 rectangular.