Other net used in PCBnew than indicated in EEschema

Hi all, I’m new to PCB design and Kicad, but am finding my way quite nicely. However, I have bumped into an issue that I do not manage to solve, hope you can help me out.
In my schematic I have a block that controls a contactor/relay. I have added a flyback diode and a label “HV_PTC+_SIG”. In that way I try to ensure the power (both + and -) for the contactor come from that diode.

However, in the end both the gate driver and the + for the contactor are powered by the same what I call 12v+_BMS-on.
Apparently this +12VBMS power flag has a higher priority than my HV_PTC+_SIG label because that is what I see in my PCB layout.

I already found I can manually select a net for a pad, but the one I need is not in the list.

Does anyone know how to solve this?
I was thinking about disconnecting the D3 + from the gate driver and add a dedicated power input for HV_PTCplus (and attach an identical power output to the 12VBMS-on). Will that work?

Yes, there is a priority hierarchy, it was posted somewhere here I think. However, as a general rule, I would stick to one label per net. If you need to split a net and give it a different name, use a net-tie.

Also it appears you labels may not be connected properly? The small square boxes usually indicated they are unconnected. Best practice in KiCad is use a grid size of 50 mil in eeschema, and don’t change it.

It looks like you design was imported from Eagle, so that may have put things off-grid.

2 Likes

Eagle does not even support giving the same net different names (It does not really come with something equivalent to labels. All it has is a feature to manually change the netname and one to show the netname. The crossref feature is not really a crossreference but just a different way of showing the netname.)

This to me means that the design might have been imported from eagle but it was heavily modified in kicad.