[OsX] Error - libraries were not found: - New install - Newbie - help please

I am new to KiCAD. this is THE most newbie question possible. After the install, schematic PCBNew.sch is opened and the component libraries are not found. I followed the instructions and put ftp-lib-table in the location described (~/Library/Preferences/kicad). This did not work. It looked like someone posted to remove that, so I did. That does not work either.
At least for the time being, I would be happy to use online libraries. I don’t see how that is happening either.

Can someone kindly help me get my library action working?
Thank you!

-Pat Quinn

I am on a MacBook Pro and I just installed:
Application: eeschema
Version: 4.0.4-stable release build
wxWidgets: Version 3.0.2 (debug,UTF-8,compiler with C++ ABI 1002,GCC 4.2.1,STL containers,compatible with 2.8)
Platform: Mac OS X (Darwin 16.1.0 x86_64), 64 bit, Little endian, wxMac
Boost version: 1.57.0
USE_WX_GRAPHICS_CONTEXT=ON
USE_WX_OVERLAY=ON
KICAD_SCRIPTING=ON
KICAD_SCRIPTING_MODULES=ON
KICAD_SCRIPTING_WXPYTHON=ON
USE_FP_LIB_TABLE=HARD_CODED_ON
BUILD_GITHUB_PLUGIN=ON

The operation in KiCd Extras (dmg) where I move the modules folder over to kicad –
does not succeed. It shows a vague circle image in the modules folder as it is being attempted to be moved to kicad (instead of performing the transfer)

Thank you Andy_P.
I am sure I am closer to success.
I am the admin on my Mackbook, so I created the directory /Library/Application/kicad and the modules folder then DID transfer in from kicad-extras.4.0.4.dmg successfully.

I believe the developers did that so multiple users could share the library.

Yes, I’ll start by being happy to get the eeschema to find components.