Ordered & received my first KiCad-designed boards (finally; after several years....)

I have been using KiCad and on this forum for several years. I ordered boards from JLCPCB about 10 days ago and received them today. The process went surprisingly easily, in spite of the fact that I am using a 5.99 nightly build. The vendor had an accurate image of the needed gerber settings in the KiCad dialog box so that was also easy. The boards look quite nice although my 16 mil via holes look smaller than expected. The worst part of the process was that the shipper notified me that the package was delivered but I did not have it. After calling the shipper I got my boards.

My boards are 2 layer with components and silkscreen on only one side.

This is intended as encouragement for anyone who is thinking about ordering a board. Study your gerbers carefully but then go ahead and dive in!

3 Likes

Congratulations!

The boards always seem to look a lot smaller in my hand than on the screen. I have a 32" screen and fill it with a 3" board.

You will get better at everything over time

I knew C-19 was slowing down shipping but such a delay is ridiculous. :wink: But :+1:.

Iā€™m cheap so I opted for slow shipping. One package arrived after 30 days, another has been waiting for 2 weeks at the outgoing airport with thumb stuck out. Iā€™m getting good at overlapping projects.

2 Likes

Hey I will be one of the first to intentionally misinterpret ambiguous wording. Such as advertisements which claim ā€œNothing works better.ā€ Well if that is true then use nothing!

But in this instance I cannot interpret my post to mean that my order required several years to arrive. If that had happened, they would have had to carry the order with a camel and wait for the Bering strait to freeze over.

2 Likes

Bob, did you do a fast delivery method (DHL, FedEx) or postal services? Thanks.