Open .sch in KiCad[solved]

Hi all,

I am new to KiCad, is there a way that I could open .sch files in KiCad? Or do I have to do a conversion to KiCad compatible?

What version and platform is your Kicad installation? What program wrote the .sch files? I know some files and be imported, some have scripts, some don’t.

I used a website to create the schematic and it can be export as different files extension, I choose eagle extension and I am using KiCad 4.0.7 version using Windows platform.

I have never used this but it seems to be under active development. Last updated in October.

You could try this conversion ULP from Sparkfun. I’m not sure whether you’d need access to Eagle to use it. https://github.com/sparkfun/SparkFun-KiCad-Libraries/tree/master/Tools/eagle-to-kicad_ulp

Ok I’ll try both. Thank you @hermit and @MichaelGarbutt

Recent nightly builds should be able to directly open eagle projects.
So this might be worth a try. (If none of the conversion scripts work)
But there are then two unknowns if it does not work.

• Did your strange webside export correctly?
  • Did kicad read correctly?

I would suggest for future projects: Do everything in one toolchain.

ulp scripts are meant to be run within eagle. So yes you need access to eagle.

1 Like

You could also try https://github.com/bobc/eakit, I think it is the best Eagle to KiCad converter but then I wrote it :slight_smile: However, it does have some features others lack.

1 Like

Just in case that is seen as a recommendation for nightly builds, one should add a caution, particularly now that the symbol library table has been introduced.

However, we can all look forward to better support for Eagle projects in the next stable release.