One pin on Symbol needs to map to 3 holes in footprint

I am a footprint designer noob. I am using Kicad v5.1.9. I have made 20+ schematics and PCBs and had them manufactured. So not a complete noob!

On a number of my PCBs I have a edge connector which is 52 pads by 3, where each group of 3 pads are connected together.

Originally I modified a conn_01x40 symbol to make a conn_01x52 symbol. I then placed this 3 times in the schematic. I then had to manually route the connection from pin 1 to pin 1 to pin 1 and then to the circuit. I modified the 01x40 footprint and extended it. In layout I get 3 conn_01x40 footprints. Again in layout I get the 3 connector footprints and then I have to manually wire pin1 to pin1 to pin1. I also make the same connections both sides (this causes problems with wire rip up in the latest tool so I have to use legacy mode).

I decided, enough is enough this is too much work. In the schematic I will instance only one of my 52 way connectors. So I no longer have to make 104 connections to connect to the other 2 connectors.

I modified the 52 x 01 connector by copying pad1 twice and placing them side by side. So each “pin” on the symbol maps to 3 through plate holes. I now needed to connect each set of 3 pads together. I used “graphic lines” and connected the 3 pads on both front and back copper. When loaded into the layout tool, I had problems and finally realised that the front and back copper wires in the pad apparently had a “keep out” attribute". I had no idea how to remove it.

So I searched and found a YouTube video. It explained how to make unusual shapes by copying the pad and slightly moving it (SMT). So I removed the “graphic lines” front and back copper links. I copied one of the pads and changed it to SMD (to remove the hole) and resized and moved it to link the pads.