On first use KiCad creates the C:\Users\User\Documents\KiCad\6.0 folder

I am new to KiCad. Running KiCad 6 on Windows 10. KiCad is installed in the (default location) C:\Program Files\KiCad\6.0 folder.

The first time (following installation) I run KiCad it creates the C:\Users\User\Documents\KiCad\6.0 folder. This folder has the following subfolders in it: 3dmodels, 3rdparty, footprints, plugins, projects, scripting, symbols and template. Two of these subfolders have subfolders of their own. No files in any of them.

What is the purpose of the C:\Users\User\Documents\KiCad\6.0 folder and its subfolders? Are they for me to use or for KiCad to use?

I have worked through a few simple KiCad projects and developed a few symbols and footprints in the process. I have stored my projects-symbols-footprints in subfolders in the same C:\Users\User\Documents\KiCad folder where KiCad created its 6.0 folder. I am just coming to realize that I am sharing that folder with KiCad.

Is it OK to share that folder with KiCad? Good idea? Bad idea? Present problems? Future problems? Do I need to move my projects-symbols-footprints to a folder that KiCad does not use?

Yes all those folders are for you to use, except 3rdparty. That one is where packages installed from plugin manager go, don’t put your stuff there.

The key information is that these folders are not deleted when you uninstall KiCad and install its new version.
Also if (from any reason) you need/want to start everything from beginning the simplest way to have clear installation of KiCad it to delete this folders.
I don’t know if such solution is useful in KiCad 6 but I remember some situations when in KiCad 4 or KiCad 5 the advice to delete that directory was what helped someone who asked here for help.
Since ‘always’ I work that way that all my files are at D: while all not my files are at C:. Because of this I didn’t even considered to use this directory for my files.