Ok, so I'm new to KiCAD but not to PCBs

I’ve added a number of IC symbols in a schematic, most contain 2 or more elements, such as a dual-timer, a quad op-amp.

I’ve been searching the forum for answers to how to change the documentation type from http: to a folder location containing a PDF file in a Win10 Pro external USB drive. When I change the documentation in one of the dual timer elements it also modifies two of the op-amp elements for no apparent reason.

I prefer pointing to my IC datasheet PDFs stored on my local USB drive rather than using a web link that may or may not be around tomorrow. I’ve read where the documentation field supports different MIME types and understood this to mean DOS drive:\directory\file locations.

What gives?

Edit: I’ve discovered that, at least in part, it is related to not having generated a Netlist. After doing so, updating the documentation field on one op-amp element in the quad, it appears to update all of the op-amp elements, ditto for the dual-timer element documentation directory link.

But there is inconsistency in other symbol component such as a hex CMOS inverter. Of the six, four of the a,b,c,d,e,f elements were changed to LM556 along with documentation pointing to the LM556.PDF, but two were not. After creating the Netlist, changing the name of one changed only 3 more, but not the last two elements.

I need to better understand whether or not there is any “linking” between each quad op-amp, hex inverter, dual-timer section to the other elements within their given package, because at the moment it seems a bit erratic.

Thanks for any help.

I have set a custom variable named KIDATASHEET to: /home/paul/electronics/datasheets/

And then in Eeschema use that path to point to local datasheets. In this case a TPS54331 buck IC from TI:

3 Likes

Now that worked like a charm. Thanks paulvdh!